top of page


Steering Committee Members

Steve Blanchard, Ph.D., Our Lady of the Lake University and Health Collaborative Board Member and Steering Committee Chairman

Robert L. Ferrer, M.D., MPH, Chairman of the Board, Health Collaborative

Pilar Oates, MA, Vice Chair, Health Collaborative

Edward Dick. M.D., MPH, Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas Inc.

Rita Espinoza, MPH, San Antonio Metropolitan Health District

Cara Hausler, MPH, San Antonio Metropolitan Health District

Jennifer Herriott, MPH, San Antonio Metropolitan Health District 

Carol Huber, MBA, Regional Health Partnership Region 6, University Health System

Laura McKieran, Dr.PH, CI:Now 

Andrea Guajardo, MPH, CHRISTUS Santa Rosa

Anil T. Mangla, B.Sc., MS., PhD., MPH., FRSPH, University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine

Mario Martinez, MBA, San Antonio Metropolitan Health District

Thomas L. Schlenker, M.D., MPH, Interlex Communications


Julie Stuckey, DNP, APNP-C, Our Lady of the Lake University

Gijs Van Oort, Ph.D., Health Access San Antonio

Melissa Valerio, Ph.D., MPH, UTHealth School of Public Health San Antonio Regional Campus


The Health Collaborative began informally in 1997 when San Antonio’s major healthcare organizations agreed to put aside their competitive business practices to conduct a comprehensive health needs assessment. The evolution in 2000 to an incorporated entity with a long-range strategic plan was in response to the founding members’ interest in improving the health status of the community by working together.

The Health Collaborative has developed into a powerful network of citizens, community organizations and businesses. The result is a more robust, less duplicative, more synergistic approach to solving critical community health needs, while efficiently utilizing resources.

For more information about The Health Collaborative, its programs and initiatives,
please contact:

Elizabeth Lutz, Executive Director
The Health Collaborative, 2300 W Commerce Ste 301, San Antonio, Texas 78207

(210) 481-2573      |

UT Health Logo_edited.jpg
MHS Logo.png
UH Logo.png
CFHP logo.png
bottom of page